New: The 2026 Wellness Awards — see our top picks
Supplement Reviews

Zipvit Omega 3 Fish Oil review: 2000 mg on the front, 1100 mg of omega-3 inside

Zipvit Omega 3 Fish Oil review: 2000 mg on the front, 1100 mg of omega-3 inside

The best-selling omega-3 on Amazon UK, and a genuinely strong dose: 1,100 mg of EPA and DHA a day, third-party tested, sustainably certified. The headline figure is still wrong, and the trials behind the promise are weaker than the packaging suggests.

Wellnesslife reviews · August 2026 · No affiliate links, no paid placement

7.6Good
The best-selling omega-3 in Britain, properly dosed, well-sourced and independently tested — but its front-of-pack number overstates the omega-3 by nearly half, and its central health promise rests on trials that mostly came back negative at this dose. Good product, oversold benefit.
Formulation
7
Dosing vs evidence
8
Real-world record
9.2
Value
7
Practicality
6
Transparency
7
Why 7.6. The dose is the strong part: 1,100 mg of EPA and DHA from a 55% concentrate is roughly double a standard fish oil, and it clears every authorised claim threshold several times over. Naming Eurofins as the testing laboratory is more than most brands offer, and 20,000 buyers at 4.6 support the rest. Two things hold it back, and both sit in the formula or the pack rather than the copy. No antioxidant appears on the published ingredient list, which for a concentrate that oxidises is a real omission, and the softgels are large enough that capsule size is the one majority-negative theme in the review data at 70 of 116.
Daily dose (2 softgels)
EPA 660 mg + DHA 440 mg = 1,100 mg omega-3, from 2,000 mg of fish oil
Per softgel
1,000 mg fish oil — 330 mg EPA, 220 mg DHA
Ingredients
Fish oil (33% EPA, 22% DHA), capsule shell: gelatin (from fish), glycerine, purified water
Source
Wild anchovy and sardine, Humboldt Current · Friend of the Sea certified
Pack
120 softgels — 60 days at two a day
Price
Not shown on the listing as accessed — no featured offer available
Third-party tested
Yes — Eurofins, for heavy metals. No oxidation or freshness data published
Rating
4.6 from 20,794 Amazon ratings

What “2000 mg” means

The first bullet promises “a powerful 2000mg of Omega-3 per serving”. The brand’s own ingredient list contradicts it: fish oil, 33% EPA and 22% DHA. Those percentages are of the oil, not of the omega-3.

2,000 mg → 1,100 mg2,000 mg is the weight of the fish oil in two softgels. The omega-3 inside it is 660 mg of EPA plus 440 mg of DHA, so 1,100 mg — 55% of the headline. To its credit, Zipvit prints the real EPA and DHA figures in the product title. It then contradicts them one line later.

This is the same pattern seen across supplements, where compound weight is presented as active weight. What makes it worse here is that the correct number was already on the pack. A reader who trusts the bullet will think they are taking almost twice the omega-3 they actually are.

To be fair on the underlying oil: at 55% omega-3, this is a concentrate. A standard fish oil runs nearer 30%, which is why a plain “1,000 mg fish oil” capsule typically carries only about 300 mg of EPA and DHA against 550 mg here.

1,100 mg a day, in context

The dose is the product’s strongest feature. Two softgels deliver 7.7 g of EPA and DHA a week, comparable to two or three portions of oily fish — more than the NHS recommendation of one oily portion weekly, which most UK adults do not reach.

It clears the authorised claim thresholds comfortably. Heart function requires 250 mg of EPA and DHA daily; brain function and vision each require 250 mg of DHA. At 1,100 mg and 440 mg, all three are earned, and the listing is entitled to make them.

One tag on the listing is not earned. Under “product benefits” Amazon shows Blood Pressure, and the authorised claim for blood pressure requires 3 g of EPA and DHA a day — nearly three times what two softgels provide. Reaching it would mean six capsules, which the pack does not sanction.

A German reviewer made the opposite point, that two a day is more than many people need and would be far too much for a child. Both cautions are reasonable. UK guidance suggests staying below 3 g a day of supplemental EPA and DHA, so a single capsule is a legitimate option for anyone who also eats fish.

What the large trials found

Here the honest answer is unflattering, and it applies to the category rather than to Zipvit specifically.

41,000 peopleCombined enrolment of the two largest omega-3 prevention trials, VITAL and ASCEND, both using 840 mg of EPA and DHA a day — a dose in the same range as this product. Neither found a significant reduction in major cardiovascular events. A Cochrane review reached similar conclusions on mortality.

The one large trial that did show benefit, REDUCE-IT, used 4 g a day of a purified EPA-only prescription drug in high-risk patients, and its placebo choice remains disputed. A parallel trial at 4 g of combined EPA and DHA was stopped for futility. So the evidence favouring omega-3 sits at four times this dose, in a different molecule, in a sicker population.

There is also a signal in the other direction: pooled analyses have linked omega-3 supplementation to a modest increase in atrial fibrillation risk, apparently dose-dependent and clearest above about 1 g a day. Anyone with a known arrhythmia should raise it with a doctor rather than assume fish oil is neutral.

None of this makes the authorised claims false. “Contributes to the maintenance of normal heart function” is a much weaker statement than preventing heart attacks, and only the first is on the label. The gap between the two is where most fish-oil marketing lives.

What “independently tested” covers

Zipvit names its laboratory, which few brands in this category do: Eurofins, testing for heavy metals. That is a real disclosure and it earns credit.

It also covers the wrong problem. Heavy metals in refined fish oil are rarely the failure point; oxidation is. Fish oil goes rancid, independent surveys have repeatedly found products on sale above the industry’s own freshness limits, and oxidised oil is both unpleasant and possibly counterproductive. No peroxide value, anisidine value or TOTOX figure is published here.

Two further gaps. The listing does not say whether the oil is in triglyceride or ethyl ester form, which affects absorption and matters more in a concentrate than in a plain oil. And no antioxidant — usually mixed tocopherols — appears anywhere on the published ingredient list, which for a concentrated fish oil is a conspicuous absence rather than a detail. It may simply be omitted from the Amazon copy; the pack itself would settle it.

What buyers report

Ten full-length reviews read in full: the eight most recent from the United Kingdom, all verified purchases, plus the two most recent from other Amazon stores. Overall 4.6 from 20,794 ratings — 73% five-star, 2% one-star.

Good value for the strength
4/10
Little or no fishy aftertaste or repeating
3/10
Easy to swallow despite the size
3/10
EPA and DHA amounts noted as genuinely high
3/10
Capsules large
2/10
Joint pain or stiffness eased
2/10
Two a day questioned as more than needed
1/10
Jar ran out before 60 days
1/10

Amazon’s topic breakdown, from a much larger sample, is where the tolerability picture sharpens.

70 of 116Mentions of capsule size that Amazon classes as negative — the only majority-negative attribute, and the one thing a 1,000 mg softgel cannot avoid. Side effects run 57 positive to 54 negative, effectively a coin flip, with nausea, heartburn and fishy burps named. Taste is 56 negative out of 174.
Reviews establish reliably that the capsules are large, that most people swallow them anyway, that roughly half experience some digestive effect, and that the price feels fair. They cannot establish that the oil lowered anyone’s cholesterol or eased anyone’s joints, however sincerely reported — one reviewer cites their own blood tests, which is better than nothing and still a single uncontrolled case. One reviewer also credits the product with vitamin A; it contains none. That is cod liver oil, a different product with a genuine upper limit.

Verdict

  • Works
  • 1,100 mg EPA and DHA daily — a real dose, not a token
  • Real EPA and DHA figures printed in the title
  • Testing laboratory named, not just “third-party tested”
  • Species, fishery and Friend of the Sea certification stated
  • 55% concentrate, roughly double a standard fish oil
  • Four ingredients, no fillers; 60 days per jar
  • Doesn’t
  • “2000mg of Omega-3” is oil weight — the omega-3 is 1,100 mg
  • Contradicts its own ingredient list
  • “Blood Pressure” benefit needs 3 g a day, not 1.1 g
  • Large trials at this dose found no event reduction
  • Testing covers heavy metals, not oxidation
  • Triglyceride or ethyl ester form not stated
  • No antioxidant on the published ingredient list
  • Capsule size is the only majority-negative theme
  • Fish gelatin — not suitable for vegetarians

Worth it if you rarely eat oily fish, you want a high EPA and DHA dose from a named and certified fishery, and you are buying it for the modest maintenance claims on the label rather than for disease prevention.

Skip it if you already eat oily fish twice a week; if large softgels are a problem; if you want published freshness data or a stated oil form; if you need a vegetarian or algal source; or if you are buying it to lower blood pressure, which would take nearly three times this dose.

Check with a pharmacist if you take anticoagulants or antiplatelet drugs, have atrial fibrillation or another arrhythmia, are due surgery, are pregnant or breastfeeding, or are considering giving these to a child.

How we score

Every supplement in this section is judged on the same six criteria, weighted as below. We score the product that left the factory — the formula, the dose, the pack — not the way a retailer has written the listing. Marketing wording is worth pointing out, and we do, but it does not move the score.

Formulation · 25%
Do the ingredients, and the forms they come in, match what the product is sold to do? Fillers, padding ingredients and missing co-factors count against it.
Dosing vs evidence · 25%
Does a daily serving reach the amounts used in published research? Under-dosing and over-dosing both cost marks — one does too little, the other charges you for more than the trials asked for.
Real-world record · 20%
The customer rating converted to a 10-point scale, weighted by how many ratings stand behind it. Tens of thousands of buyers tell you something a desk review cannot; a few hundred tell you very little.
Value · 15%
Cost per day against comparable products, across the whole pack range rather than the priciest size.
Practicality · 10%
Capsule or scoop size, taste, dosing routine, availability — whether it is a thing people keep taking.
Transparency · 5%
Whether the label states the amounts, names the forms and declares the elemental content, and whether any third-party testing is specified.

Each criterion is scored out of 10 against the norm for its category, not against an ideal: 10 is best practice, 8 solid with minor gaps, 6 works but with a real limitation, 4 a serious shortfall, 2 should not be on the shelf. The overall figure is the weighted average, printed to one decimal place, and the paragraph under the table explains where the marks went.

SourcesProduct label, ingredient list and Amazon UK listing (ASIN B07649WV5Y), accessed August 2026 · NHS, Fish and shellfish and Vitamins and minerals · GB nutrition and health claims register, authorised claims for EPA, DHA and blood pressure · Manson et al., VITAL, New England Journal of Medicine, 2019 · ASCEND Study Collaborative Group, New England Journal of Medicine, 2018 · Bhatt et al., REDUCE-IT, New England Journal of Medicine, 2019 · Abdelhamid et al., Omega-3 fatty acids for the primary and secondary prevention of cardiovascular disease, Cochrane, 2020 · pooled analyses of atrial fibrillation risk with omega-3 supplementation · Ten full-length Amazon reviews and Amazon’s review-topic breakdown, read August 2026. The listing showed no price at the time of access, so cost per day is not stated in this review rather than estimated.

How we review: every supplement is scored on the same six criteria — formulation 25%, dosing against the evidence 25%, real-world record 20%, value 15%, practicality 10%, transparency 5%. The real-world score reflects the product’s customer rating and, just as importantly, how many ratings stand behind it: tens of thousands of buyers tell you something a desk review cannot, while a few hundred tell you very little. We buy nothing from the brands we cover and take no payment for placement. General information, not medical advice.

GET
WELL
INFORMED

One evidence-based email a week. What the science actually says about health, fitness, and beauty — no filler, no selling.