New: The 2026 Wellness Awards — see our top picks
Supplement Reviews

Nutravita Omega 3 review: the same numbers as its rivals, and the only label that explains them

Nutravita Omega 3 review: the same numbers as its rivals, and the only label that explains them

The numbers this category has settled on — 2,000 mg of oil, 660 mg EPA, 440 mg DHA — on a listing that states them correctly, explains the difference between the two figures, and claims only what the dose supports. Most of its competitors do at least one of those things badly.

Wellnesslife reviews · August 2026 · No affiliate links, no paid placement

8.5Very good
A properly dosed, antioxidant-protected, sustainably certified fish oil sold with the most disciplined copy in this series, and rated 4.7 by nearly 30,000 buyers — held back only by softgel size, an odour complaint that runs against its own marketing, and freshness data nobody in this category publishes. The benchmark for how to label an omega-3.
Formulation
9
Dosing vs evidence
8
Real-world record
9.4
Value
9
Practicality
6
Transparency
9
Why 8.5. Almost everything about the product is right. A tocopherol-protected 55% concentrate delivering 1,100 mg of EPA and DHA is a proper dose, the species and fishery are named, the fishery is certified, and every batch is tested. Nearly 30,000 buyers rate it 4.7, and its value score is one of the strongest anywhere in the category. Two things stop it going higher, and neither is a labelling fault: softgel size, and an odour complaint that Amazon’s own breakdown makes majority-negative at 57 of 95 — awkward for a product marketed on the absence of fishy aftertaste. Freshness data would settle the second question, and nobody in this category publishes it.
Daily dose (2 softgels)
EPA 660 mg + DHA 440 mg = 1,100 mg omega-3, from 2,000 mg of fish oil
Per softgel
1,000 mg fish oil — 330 mg EPA, 220 mg DHA
Ingredients
Fish oil, softgel shell (bovine gelatine, glycerol, water), antioxidant: tocopherol-rich extract
Source
Anchovy and sardine, Peruvian coast · Friend of the Sea certified · UK made
Pack
240 softgels — 120 days at two a day · also sold as a pack of two
Price
Not shown on the listing as accessed — no featured offer available
Third-party tested
Every batch, for heavy metals and microbiology — laboratory not named, no oxidation data
Rating
4.7 from 29,924 Amazon ratings · ASIN B01K28121U

The label done right

Almost every fish oil listing leaves you to unpick its headline figure. This one does the unpicking itself, in its own first bullet.

2,000 mg, of which 1,100 mgThe bullet reads: two softgels give 2,000 mg of fish oil, of which 1,100 mg is omega-3, being 660 mg EPA and 440 mg DHA — stated per daily serving, not per capsule, so you can compare like for like. That is the compound-versus-active distinction, printed voluntarily, with the reason given. Very few listings in this category bother.

The comparison is not hypothetical. Fish oils with exactly these 660 mg and 440 mg figures are commonly sold with a first bullet promising “2000mg of Omega-3” — the oil weight presented as the active. Same oil specification, opposite editorial choice.

The ingredient list adds a piece many concentrates leave out: a tocopherol-rich extract as antioxidant. Fish oil oxidises, and a concentrate needs protection. Its presence here is a small line that matters more than it looks.

One blemish, in an older description block further down the page: “contains contaminant free, pure fish oil”. No oil is contaminant-free; testing shows levels below limits, not zero. It reads like legacy copy the precise new bullets have overtaken.

Three claims, and the one they left out

The second bullet names its own legal basis: at this serving three authorised claims apply — EPA and DHA for normal heart function, DHA for maintenance of normal brain function, DHA for maintenance of normal vision. All three require 250 mg daily, and all three are comfortably met.

What is absent is as telling. Blood pressure does not appear. The authorised blood-pressure claim requires 3 g of EPA and DHA a day, nearly three times what two softgels give, and Nutravita has not reached for it. Listings at this dose frequently tag it anyway.

The safety text also states plainly that the product is not intended to treat, cure or prevent any disease, that it is not suitable for under-18s, and — unusually — that the softgel shell is bovine gelatine and therefore unsuitable for vegetarians and vegans. Brands are not obliged to volunteer the last one in a bullet. Most do not.

What 1,100 mg can and cannot promise

The dose is real. Two softgels give 7.7 g of EPA and DHA a week, roughly two to three portions of oily fish, which is more than most UK adults manage.

The evidence for what that achieves is where honesty is required, and it applies to the category rather than the brand.

840 mg against 4 gThe two largest prevention trials, VITAL and ASCEND, together enrolled over 41,000 people at 840 mg a day — close to this dose — and found no significant reduction in major cardiovascular events. The one large trial that did show benefit, REDUCE-IT, used 4 g a day of a purified EPA-only prescription drug in high-risk patients, and its placebo choice is disputed.

So the supportable statement is the one on the pack: contributing to the normal function of the heart. Preventing heart attacks is a different claim, and this dose does not carry it. Pooled analyses have also linked omega-3 supplementation to a small increase in atrial fibrillation risk, apparently clearest above about 1 g a day, which is worth raising with a doctor if you have an arrhythmia.

Read that way, the listing and the evidence are in step. That is rarer than it should be.

What “batch tested” covers

Every batch is independently tested for heavy metals and microbiological safety, and the oil is molecularly distilled. Good, and stated more specifically than most.

It still covers the wrong failure. Rancidity, not contamination, is the recurring problem in fish oil, and independent surveys have repeatedly found products on sale above the industry’s own freshness limits. No peroxide value, anisidine value or TOTOX figure appears here. The tocopherol helps; published numbers would settle it.

Two smaller gaps. The laboratory is not named, which some competitors do. And the oil form — triglyceride or ethyl ester — is not stated, which affects absorption and matters in a 55% concentrate. A four-month bottle also means an opened container of fish oil for a third of a year; keeping it cool and sealed is not a trivial instruction.

What buyers report

Ten full-length reviews read in full: the eight most recent from the United Kingdom, all verified purchases, plus the two most recent from other Amazon stores. Overall 4.7 from 29,924 ratings — 81% five-star, 3% one-star.

Good value; the four-month pack lasts
6/10
No fishy aftertaste or repeating
5/10
EPA and DHA amounts noted as genuinely high
5/10
Easy to swallow despite the strength
4/10
Sourcing and UK manufacture valued
2/10
Joint pain eased
1/10
Restates “2000 mg of omega-3” the label corrects
1/10
Unrelated medical improvement attributed to it
1/10

Amazon’s topic breakdown, from a far larger sample, disagrees with those thirteen on one point — sharply.

57 of 95Mentions of odour that Amazon classes as negative — the only majority-negative attribute, and it sits directly against a bullet promising softgels formulated to minimise fishy aftertaste. Five of the ten reviews read here praise exactly that. Capsule size runs 56 negative of 126 and side effects 59 of 186, while value is 477 positive of 505, an exceptionally strong score for the category.
Reviews establish reliably that the softgels are large but swallowable, that the four-month bottle feels like good value, and that the fishy-burp question splits people. They cannot establish that anyone’s heart, brain or joints benefited. Two cautions from this sample. One reviewer restates the headline as “2000mg of Omega-3” despite the bullet correcting it, which is a reminder that accurate labelling does not guarantee accurate reading. Another reports swollen lymph nodes disappearing within two weeks; fish oil does not do that, and persistent swollen lymph nodes are a reason to see a doctor rather than to buy a supplement. Several of the shortest reviews in the sample contain no product information at all.

Verdict

  • Works
  • States 2,000 mg of oil of which 1,100 mg omega-3, and explains why
  • Quotes the exact authorised claim wordings
  • Does not reach for the blood-pressure claim it cannot make
  • Tocopherol antioxidant in the formula
  • Discloses bovine gelatine and unsuitability for vegetarians
  • Species, fishery, certification and country all named
  • Batch tested for heavy metals and microbiology
  • 240 softgels — four months; value 477 mentions to 28
  • Doesn’t
  • Odour is majority-negative, against its own marketing
  • Capsule size negative in 56 of 126 mentions
  • No oxidation, peroxide or TOTOX figures
  • Testing laboratory not named
  • Triglyceride or ethyl ester form not stated
  • “Contaminant free” in an older description block
  • Large trials at this dose found no event reduction
  • Four months is a long time for an open bottle of fish oil

Worth it if you rarely eat oily fish, you want a high EPA and DHA dose from a named and certified fishery, and you value a brand that tells you what the numbers mean rather than choosing the flattering one.

Skip it if you already eat oily fish twice a week; if large softgels or fishy repeating have defeated you before; if you want published freshness data or a stated oil form; if you need a vegetarian or algal source; or if you are buying it to prevent heart disease rather than to top up a shortfall.

Check with a pharmacist if you take anticoagulants or antiplatelet drugs, have atrial fibrillation or another arrhythmia, are due surgery, or are pregnant or breastfeeding.

How we score

Every supplement in this section is judged on the same six criteria, weighted as below. We score the product that left the factory — the formula, the dose, the pack — not the way a retailer has written the listing. Marketing wording is worth pointing out, and we do, but it does not move the score.

Formulation · 25%
Do the ingredients, and the forms they come in, match what the product is sold to do? Fillers, padding ingredients and missing co-factors count against it.
Dosing vs evidence · 25%
Does a daily serving reach the amounts used in published research? Under-dosing and over-dosing both cost marks — one does too little, the other charges you for more than the trials asked for.
Real-world record · 20%
The customer rating converted to a 10-point scale, weighted by how many ratings stand behind it. Tens of thousands of buyers tell you something a desk review cannot; a few hundred tell you very little.
Value · 15%
Cost per day against comparable products, across the whole pack range rather than the priciest size.
Practicality · 10%
Capsule or scoop size, taste, dosing routine, availability — whether it is a thing people keep taking.
Transparency · 5%
Whether the label states the amounts, names the forms and declares the elemental content, and whether any third-party testing is specified.

Each criterion is scored out of 10 against the norm for its category, not against an ideal: 10 is best practice, 8 solid with minor gaps, 6 works but with a real limitation, 4 a serious shortfall, 2 should not be on the shelf. The overall figure is the weighted average, printed to one decimal place, and the paragraph under the table explains where the marks went.

SourcesProduct label, ingredient list and Amazon UK listing (ASIN B01K28121U), accessed August 2026 · GB nutrition and health claims register, authorised claims for EPA, DHA and blood pressure · NHS, Fish and shellfish · Manson et al., VITAL, New England Journal of Medicine, 2019 · ASCEND Study Collaborative Group, New England Journal of Medicine, 2018 · Bhatt et al., REDUCE-IT, New England Journal of Medicine, 2019 · Abdelhamid et al., Cochrane, 2020 · pooled analyses of atrial fibrillation risk with omega-3 supplementation · Ten full-length Amazon reviews and Amazon’s review-topic breakdown, read August 2026. The listing showed no price at the time of access, so cost per day is not stated in this review rather than estimated.

How we review: every supplement is scored on the same six criteria — formulation 25%, dosing against the evidence 25%, real-world record 20%, value 15%, practicality 10%, transparency 5%. The real-world score reflects the product’s customer rating and, just as importantly, how many ratings stand behind it: tens of thousands of buyers tell you something a desk review cannot, while a few hundred tell you very little. We buy nothing from the brands we cover and take no payment for placement. General information, not medical advice.

GET
WELL
INFORMED

One evidence-based email a week. What the science actually says about health, fitness, and beauty — no filler, no selling.