New: The 2026 Wellness Awards — see our top picks
Supplement Reviews

WeightWorld Omega 3 review: the right numbers, minus the sourcing anyone can check

WeightWorld Omega 3 review: the right numbers, minus the sourcing anyone can check

A concentrated fish oil at the numbers this category has settled on — 2,000 mg of oil, 660 mg EPA, 440 mg DHA. It gets the arithmetic right without ever doing the addition for you, and leaves out the sourcing detail its own reviewers have started supplying on its behalf.

Wellnesslife reviews · August 2026 · No affiliate links, no paid placement

8.0Very good
A properly dosed, antioxidant-protected fish oil at four months a bottle, rated 4.6 by 22,000 buyers, with claims kept inside what the dose supports — short of the two comparable listings only on sourcing, certification and testing, none of which it mentions. The oil is right; the paperwork is thin.
Formulation
8
Dosing vs evidence
8
Real-world record
9.2
Value
8
Practicality
6
Transparency
7
Why 8.0. The oil itself is sound: 1,100 mg of EPA and DHA is a real dose rather than a token one, mixed tocopherols protect it from oxidation, and the claims on the page stay inside what that dose supports — no reaching for blood pressure. A 240-softgel bottle at four months is why value scores well, and 22,000 buyers at 4.6 back that up. What it does not have is paperwork: no species, no fishery, no sustainability certification and no testing claim, where GMP covers how the batch was made rather than what was found in it. Softgel size costs it the last mark.
Daily dose (2 softgels)
EPA 660 mg + DHA 440 mg = 1,100 mg omega-3, from 2,000 mg of fish oil
Per softgel
1,000 mg fish oil — 330 mg EPA, 220 mg DHA
Ingredients
Omega-3 fish oil, antioxidant: vitamin E (mixed tocopherols), softgel: gelatin (bovine), glycerin, water
Source
Not stated — no species, no fishery, no sustainability certification
Pack
240 softgels — 120 days at two a day · made in the United Kingdom
Price
Not shown on the listing as accessed — no featured offer available
Third-party tested
Not stated — GMP manufacture claimed, which is a process standard, not a test
Rating
4.6 from 22,790 Amazon ratings · ASIN B084G5XC29

The sum nobody prints

Start with what this listing avoids. The title reads “Omega 3 Fish Oil 2000mg — 660mg EPA & 440mg DHA”, and the first bullet says each serving contains 2,000 mg of fish oil. That wording is correct, and it is more than much of this category manages — listings with identical figures routinely promise “2000mg of Omega-3”, presenting the oil weight as the active.

What it never does is finish the thought.

660 + 440Nowhere on this page are those two figures added together, stated as 1,100 mg of omega-3, or related to the 2,000 mg in the title. A reader who does not know that fish oil is only part omega-3 will still assume the big number is the active one. The clearest labels in this category spell it out — “2000mg fish oil, of which 1100mg is omega 3”. Here the arithmetic is left to the buyer.

The ingredient list is otherwise a good one: fish oil, mixed tocopherols as antioxidant, and a bovine gelatin shell with glycerin and water. The antioxidant matters, because a 55% concentrate oxidises, and its presence is a real point in the product’s favour. Bovine gelatin is disclosed in the ingredients, though not flagged in a bullet as making the product unsuitable for vegetarians.

Three correct claims, one wrong authority

The third bullet quotes the authorised wordings accurately: EPA and DHA contribute to the normal function of the heart; DHA contributes to the maintenance of normal brain function; DHA contributes to the maintenance of normal vision. All three need 250 mg daily and all three are met several times over. No blood-pressure claim appears, which is correct — that one requires 3 g a day.

Then it attributes them to “EFSA Approved Claims”. Since Brexit, EFSA is not the authority that governs claims in Great Britain; the GB nutrition and health claims register is. The claims themselves are identical, so nothing misleading is being said about the product. But citing the wrong regulator on a UK listing is the kind of detail that separates a brand keeping its copy current from one that has not revisited it in six years.

One bullet headline is also an absolute: “NO FISHY AFTERTASTE OR BURPS”. Fish-oil tolerance varies between people, and no formulation can promise that for everyone. On this listing’s own data the claim broadly holds — taste runs 17 positive mentions to 5.

What the listing leaves out

Here is the gap, and it is a real one. There is no species, no fishery, no country of catch, no sustainability certification and no third-party testing claim. GMP is mentioned, but GMP is a manufacturing process standard — it says the batch was made consistently, not that anyone analysed it. Competing fish oils at this price routinely name their species, carry a sustainability certification such as Friend of the Sea, and some name their testing laboratory.

The interesting part is what fills the vacuum.

IFOS, anchovies, molecular distillationThree credentials asserted in detailed, heavily upvoted reviews of this product — and none of them appear anywhere on the listing. One four-star reviewer states the oil is sourced from anchovies and is distilled; another, elsewhere on the page, credits it with per-batch IFOS certification and open-sea anchovy sourcing. IFOS is a specific, verifiable programme. The brand does not claim it here.

Those reviewers may be right — the physical bottle may carry more than the page does. They may also be importing details from the near-identical products sitting in the same “customers also viewed” strip, both of which do name anchovies. Either way, a listing that stays silent on sourcing invites its customers to guess, and they guess generously.

What 1,100 mg supports

Two softgels give 7.7 g of EPA and DHA a week, comparable to two or three portions of oily fish, which is more than most UK adults eat.

What that achieves is where the category needs honesty. The two largest prevention trials, VITAL and ASCEND, together enrolled over 41,000 people at 840 mg a day — close to this dose — and found no significant reduction in major cardiovascular events. The single large trial that did show benefit used 4 g a day of a purified EPA-only prescription drug in high-risk patients, and its placebo choice remains disputed. Pooled analyses have also linked omega-3 supplementation to a small rise in atrial fibrillation risk, clearest above about 1 g a day.

So the supportable statement is the modest one printed on the pack: contributing to normal heart function. Preventing heart disease is a different claim at a different dose, and to its credit this listing does not make it.

What buyers report

Ten full-length reviews read in full: the eight most recent from the United Kingdom, all verified purchases, plus the two most recent from other Amazon stores. Overall 4.6 from 22,790 ratings — 78% five-star, 1% one-star.

Good value; the four-month bottle lasts
5/10
No fishy aftertaste, smell or burps
4/10
Easy to swallow or take daily
4/10
EPA and DHA amounts noted as strong
4/10
Capsules large
3/10
Clean, short ingredient list praised
3/10
No digestive issues
2/10
Attributes sourcing the listing never states
1/10
UK manufacture valued
1/10

Amazon’s topic breakdown agrees on value and taste, and turns negative on two attributes — with an important caveat about how few people said so.

14 of 21Mentions of pill size classed as negative, alongside 7 of 13 on digestive effects. Both are majority-negative, but both rest on twenty-odd comments, where high-volume listings in this category typically carry a hundred or more mentions on the same attributes. Value for money is the strongest signal at 50 positive of 56.
Reviews establish reliably that the softgels are large, that most people tolerate them, and that a 240-count bottle feels like good value. They cannot establish that anyone’s heart or brain benefited, and the most detailed reviewer here says so himself — that it is difficult to measure the health benefits of any supplement objectively, which is the most honest sentence on the page. Two cautions. Two reviewers credit the product with sourcing and certification the listing does not claim. And one recommends taking a bottle of olive oil alongside it, twenty minutes apart, which is dietary advice rather than a product report.

Verdict

  • Works
  • Title carries 660 mg and 440 mg, not just the oil weight
  • Bullet correctly says 2,000 mg of fish oil
  • Mixed tocopherols antioxidant in the formula
  • Quotes the three authorised claims accurately
  • Does not reach for the blood-pressure claim
  • 240 softgels — four months; value 50 mentions to 6
  • Taste holds up: 17 positive mentions to 5
  • Doesn’t
  • Never states the 1,100 mg omega-3 total
  • No species, fishery or sustainability certification
  • No third-party testing claim — GMP is not a test
  • Cites EFSA, which no longer governs GB claims
  • “No fishy aftertaste or burps” is an absolute promise
  • Triglyceride or ethyl ester form not stated
  • Pill size and digestive effects both majority-negative
  • Four months is a long time for an open bottle of fish oil

Worth it if you rarely eat oily fish, you want a large, well-preserved bottle at a real EPA and DHA dose, and sourcing certification is not something you need on the label.

Skip it if you want the species and fishery named, or a sustainability certification, or published testing, all of which some competitors do carry; if large softgels have defeated you before; if you need a vegetarian or algal source; or if you are buying it to prevent heart disease rather than top up a shortfall.

Check with a pharmacist if you take anticoagulants or antiplatelet drugs, have atrial fibrillation or another arrhythmia, are due surgery, or are pregnant or breastfeeding.

How we score

Every supplement in this section is judged on the same six criteria, weighted as below. We score the product that left the factory — the formula, the dose, the pack — not the way a retailer has written the listing. Marketing wording is worth pointing out, and we do, but it does not move the score.

Formulation · 25%
Do the ingredients, and the forms they come in, match what the product is sold to do? Fillers, padding ingredients and missing co-factors count against it.
Dosing vs evidence · 25%
Does a daily serving reach the amounts used in published research? Under-dosing and over-dosing both cost marks — one does too little, the other charges you for more than the trials asked for.
Real-world record · 20%
The customer rating converted to a 10-point scale, weighted by how many ratings stand behind it. Tens of thousands of buyers tell you something a desk review cannot; a few hundred tell you very little.
Value · 15%
Cost per day against comparable products, across the whole pack range rather than the priciest size.
Practicality · 10%
Capsule or scoop size, taste, dosing routine, availability — whether it is a thing people keep taking.
Transparency · 5%
Whether the label states the amounts, names the forms and declares the elemental content, and whether any third-party testing is specified.

Each criterion is scored out of 10 against the norm for its category, not against an ideal: 10 is best practice, 8 solid with minor gaps, 6 works but with a real limitation, 4 a serious shortfall, 2 should not be on the shelf. The overall figure is the weighted average, printed to one decimal place, and the paragraph under the table explains where the marks went.

SourcesProduct label, ingredient list and Amazon UK listing (ASIN B084G5XC29), accessed August 2026 · GB nutrition and health claims register, authorised claims for EPA, DHA and blood pressure · NHS, Fish and shellfish · Manson et al., VITAL, New England Journal of Medicine, 2019 · ASCEND Study Collaborative Group, New England Journal of Medicine, 2018 · Bhatt et al., REDUCE-IT, New England Journal of Medicine, 2019 · Abdelhamid et al., Cochrane, 2020 · pooled analyses of atrial fibrillation risk with omega-3 supplementation · Ten full-length Amazon reviews and Amazon’s review-topic breakdown, read August 2026. The listing showed no price at the time of access, so cost per day is not stated in this review rather than estimated.

How we review: every supplement is scored on the same six criteria — formulation 25%, dosing against the evidence 25%, real-world record 20%, value 15%, practicality 10%, transparency 5%. The real-world score reflects the product’s customer rating and, just as importantly, how many ratings stand behind it: tens of thousands of buyers tell you something a desk review cannot, while a few hundred tell you very little. We buy nothing from the brands we cover and take no payment for placement. General information, not medical advice.

GET
WELL
INFORMED

One evidence-based email a week. What the science actually says about health, fitness, and beauty — no filler, no selling.